Alive and Well


 

Ravens rested on the rocks of a lighthouse perch

“They look more like vultures between the gulls” I thought

While the sun shone strong in my dirty window as I

Reflected on my walk, the one I just took

It’s not my home but will be though temporarily

As for the apartment, excuse me; flat, it’s a benefit

A perk of my trade giving me more reason to stay

 

There was one alighted in the tree just outside of me

Another raven of course and the sun hid

Not on purpose I hope, on my account, an omen perhaps

The pale blue sky like some eyes I’ve seen and clouds

Wait for spring to battle winter

No defining color, that is typical for here I’ve learned

Bland fashion

 

Well in two days it’s March

Make up your mind soon so I know what to wear

 

Not that dampness, cold fingers from the sea really care

Meanwhile my jacket isn’t dry; the fan in my room

Makes it seem all the colder outside.

I can see out the window with no sun, but even with it

Should it decide to shine, the raven’s still there

It won’t leave my side or sight

 

Cue a flock of ravens to sail the sky, do they cry evermore

If you’d like, but at the same time the seagulls don’t mind

Unmoved by all going on while pigeons coo

They cover cobblestone, their domain, peck scraps here and there,

And get chased by the children, kicked away by adults

 

Everyone’s too busy, even the birds

Unable to pause and give day the time

Thick crowds form a sea of heads on the shore

I look up and the raven is not alone, there’re more

Many more, more than I can say for me

 

“Is it a gathering?”

And I wonder what for

 

One thought on “Alive and Well

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

