Short Of A Six-Pack


 

Not sure what happened but the word document is a different size. How do I get it full screen? Why did it change? I hate it when this happens or maybe I’ll like it better.

 

Coffee’s up. Thank goodness for that.

 

An eerie silence when I first opened the door for that precious cool morning air. There’s nothing to fear from me. Wouldn’t harm a kitten but I will swat a fly. Only an idiot lets flies buzz around. Dirty germ-carrying things. Chirping had stopped, units stopped running, almost deafening straining to hear any sound but it’s over now. Units kicked on, birds chattering again, the smell of coffee fills the apartment, fan’s on low all meaning it was a simple moment of silence or it’s here, whatever it is though I certainly didn’t invite it.

 

Think I’ll pour.

 

Then again I thought because the word document had changed I was somewhere else, that indicated something had happened. Whatever it is says I should write. Am I not supposed to notice? All realms should know how aware I am and the document not covering the entire screen will tell me something. I mean duh. Higher beings indeed! I always said ‘space’ was the distance between two ears and has nothing to do with traveling through galaxies. I’m glad I got that off my chest.

 

Now I am getting up to pour.

 

Yet

The sky too dark

Where is my light

Of course there’s no sun

Too early for that

Navy should become powder

No, not so but clear

By degrees not too soon

Still

Night is over now

The horizon lined orange

Defining the trees

Bold background begins

 

That’s better

 

I glanced up and caught a glimpse of eyes but he closed them quickly so I’d think I am alone. In the hallway, watching. Told you I’m too aware for that. It’s here, but I’ll be cool. Soon enough it’ll be bright. I’ll watch something in the meanwhile pretending I don’t know, didn’t see.

 

Falling asleep as I type. Opened them again catching a glimpse of small white eyes peering at me. It realized I saw and shut them again. Desperate I turn around to find my sky and it’s light enough.

 

I’m safe.

 

Putting ‘The Birdcage’ on now…

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

