Could Be A Novel


 

Oh my poor scrambled brains!

 

‘You want me to give you my groceries? For real, my groc… You want to take the fruit I bought this morning for my babies at the day care? What are you going to do sell them on the street for a fix? Are you serious?’ At this point she hadn’t seen the blade that in his mind he was proudly brandishing. He knew he must be scaring her to death.

 

‘You talk too much’ he’d said.

 

‘No one’s ever said that to me before. I’m usually pretty quiet.’ Bantering back flowed with too much ease though she should’ve been scared, shouldn’t she have been (‘the ongoing question’ ran quickly through her mind)?

 

He took a step forward to take a slash, ‘a knife…’ but she crouched down in a move that’s only done in the movies, stuck her foot out, swiped his ankle and he fell on his backside, ‘good night’, as the knife bounced out of his hand far enough he couldn’t reach.

 

He was certainly surprised and so was she. ‘I’ll be damned, oh yeah, I already am.’

 

With legs a little wobbly she stood back up anyway, walked to the knife and kicked at it catching it just right sending it sailing across the green picnic area she was passing, which was impressive.

 

‘Whoa, caught that just right’.

 

The guy she’d sucker-punched in a sense and knocked on his ass was still a little stunned, his pride having been very bruised along with all else.

 

‘Who is this bitch… Zena… dike…’

 

She continued on to work, apricots, blueberries and 3 oranges in tow. She didn’t look back. No need. ‘Zena, warrior princess or was I Wonder Woman, interesting I’m wearing gold tinted sandals today, no doubt he thinks I’m a lesbian…

 

This is a start to a helluva day’ she thought, ‘and it’s Friday to boot… does that matter, yeah, Fridays always matter and I’ve two days to think about what just happened. Too much, can’t say you’d ever see that coming, maybe I’ll write something about it, build a story.

 

Who knows, could be a novel’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Could Be A Novel

Leave a Reply

